Food Nutrition Facts Lookup
Calories and 40 nutrients with % Daily Value for 13,500 USDA foods, searched on-device.
NFS = not further specified · NS = not specified (FNDDS names). Each food’s data set is shown in the badge.
Nutrition facts
Nutrient, amount and % Daily Value*
* Share of the US FDA Daily Value for adults and children 4 years and over (2,000-calorie reference diet).
Where the calories come from
All nutrients
| Nutrient | Amount | % DV | Per 100 g |
|---|
Compare
The highest value in each row is in bold. Up to four foods; “Per chosen amount” uses the amount each food had when you added it.
For general information only, not medical advice. Consult a qualified health professional for advice about your situation.
About the Food Nutrition Facts Lookup
Search 13,587 foods from USDA FoodData Central, the US government’s public food-composition database, and see the calories, macronutrients and up to 40 nutrients — fibre, sugars, sodium, potassium, calcium, iron, vitamins A, C, D, E, K, the B vitamins, choline and more — for 100 g or any household measure FDC lists, such as "1 medium banana (118 g)" or "1 cup".
Each nutrient is shown with its % Daily Value from the US FDA labelling rules, next to a label-style summary and the share of calories from protein, carbohydrate and fat. Add up to four foods to compare side by side, per 100 g or per portion, and download any table as CSV. The food list is downloaded from this site and searched in your browser: nothing you type is sent anywhere.
How to use it
- Type a food — "banana", "dal", "brown rice cooked", "curd", or a question such as "calories in an egg" — or tap an example. Indian and British names such as brinjal, ladies finger, rajma, atta, courgette or yoghurt are understood.
- Narrow the results to one data set if you like, then choose a food. Its data set and FDC ID are shown with it.
- Pick the portion (100 g, a household measure, grams or ounces) and how many — 2, 1.5, 1/2 or ½. Every value updates for that amount.
- Read the label-style summary, where the calories come from and the full table of nutrients with % Daily Value. A dash means FDC has no value for that nutrient.
- Press Add to compare to put foods side by side, or copy or download the nutrients as CSV.
Examples
105 kcal · 1.3 g protein · 26.9 g carbohydrate, 3.1 g fibre (11% DV) · 422 mg potassium (9% DV) · 10 mg vitamin C (11% DV)
72 kcal · 6.3 g protein (13% DV) · 4.8 g fat · 0.45 µg vitamin B12 (19% DV)
348 kcal · 20.6 g protein · 18 g fibre (64% DV) · 7.6 mg iron (42% DV) · 742 mg sodium (32% DV)
149 kcal · 7.7 g protein · 276 mg calcium (21% DV) · 1.1 µg vitamin B12 (46% DV)
The three USDA data sets
- Foundation Foods (363 foods): the newest analytical values for basic foods, often with details of the samples. Many report energy as "Atwater specific" or "Atwater general" factors, which the tool notes.
- SR Legacy (7,793 foods): the final edition of the classic USDA National Nutrient Database for Standard Reference, with ingredients, brand-name and restaurant items. It will not be updated again.
- FNDDS 2021–2023 (5,431 foods): foods and drinks as eaten in the US What We Eat in America survey, including mixed dishes such as biryani, dal, idli, dosa and samosa. Most are calculated from a recipe of ingredients, so a home-style dish can differ from yours.
Branded foods are not included. The same food often appears in more than one data set with slightly different values; the badge shows which one you are looking at.
% Daily Value
The % Daily Value compares the amount in your portion with the US FDA Daily Value for adults and children aged 4 and over (21 CFR 101.9), based on a 2,000-calorie reference diet: for example total fat 78 g, saturated fat 20 g, sodium 2,300 mg, carbohydrate 275 g, fibre 28 g, protein 50 g, calcium 1,300 mg, iron 18 mg, potassium 4,700 mg, vitamin D 20 µg and vitamin C 90 mg. They are reference amounts for comparing foods, not personal targets; needs differ with age, sex, pregnancy and health, and India’s ICMR-NIN sets its own recommended allowances.
The percentages here are rounded to whole numbers and are not rounded the way a packaged-food label must be. The protein % DV uses the protein as measured, while a US label first multiplies it by a protein-quality score (PDCAAS, 21 CFR 101.9(c)(7)(ii)), so for foods with lower-quality protein a label shows a smaller percentage. Niacin in FDC is preformed niacin only, so its % DV can understate the niacin-equivalent value; folate % DV is shown only when FDC gives dietary folate equivalents. None of these data sets reports added sugars.
How amounts are worked out
FDC publishes every nutrient per 100 g of the food as described — raw, boiled, drained and so on. For any amount the value is per-100 g × grams ÷ 100: a 118 g banana has 89 × 1.18 = 105 kcal. Household measures (cup, tablespoon, piece, "1 medium") come with their gram weights from FDC. The calorie split uses 4 kcal per gram for protein and carbohydrate, 9 for fat and 7 for alcohol, so it is an approximation; the calorie figure itself is FDC’s own value.
Privacy and how the data loads
The tables are static files on this site. The food list (about 135 KB) downloads when the page opens; each food’s nutrients come from one of 32 small files, each holding every 32nd food of an alphabetical list, so the file that downloads does not reveal which food you opened. Searching, scaling and comparing all happen on your device; nothing you type is sent to MySmartCoPilot or anyone else.
Sources
- U.S. Department of Agriculture, Agricultural Research Service. FoodData Central — downloads: Foundation Foods, SR Legacy and FNDDS 2021–2023. Public domain under CC0 1.0 (API guide).
- 21 CFR 101.9 — Reference Daily Intakes (c)(8)(iv) and Daily Reference Values (c)(9)
- US FDA, How to Understand and Use the Nutrition Facts Label — the 5% / 20% guide
Limitations
- US data: regional recipes, local varieties and fortification (for example iodised salt or fortified flour in India) can differ.
- A dash means the nutrient was not reported for that food, not that it is zero.
- Values are averages for the food as described; brands, ripeness, cooking and recipes vary.
- Not a meal planner or diary, and not suitable for medical diets such as renal, ketogenic or allergy diets without a dietitian.
Privacy
Everything happens in your browser. What you enter or open here is not uploaded or stored by MySmartCoPilot. Downloads the food tables from this site in small pieces as you search; what you type is matched on your device and never sent.
Frequently asked questions
How many calories are in a banana?
A medium raw banana (118 g) has about 105 kcal in USDA SR Legacy: 89 kcal per 100 g. Search “banana” and choose the portion to see a small, large or mashed cup.
Why are there several entries for the same food?
FoodData Central keeps separate data sets: Foundation Foods (newest lab analyses), SR Legacy (the classic reference, no longer updated) and FNDDS (foods as eaten, often calculated from recipes). Each entry shows its data set and FDC ID; values can differ slightly between them.
Can I find Indian foods?
Many: dal, idli, dosa, samosa, paneer, chapati or roti, naan, paratha, biryani, chicken curry, ghee, besan and pulses such as moong, rajma, chana and pigeon peas. Indian names are mapped to the database’s English names, so “brinjal”, “bhindi” or “atta” work too. Values come from US data, so regional recipes can differ.
What does % Daily Value mean?
How much of a day’s reference amount a portion provides, using the US FDA Daily Values for adults and children 4 and over (2,000-calorie diet). 5% or less is generally considered low and 20% or more high on US labels.
Is this the same as the label on a packet?
No. Packaged-food labels follow strict rounding rules and use the manufacturer’s own data. This tool shows FDC’s average values for a generic food, rounded for reading. For a specific product, read its label.
Does it work offline?
Once the food list and the foods you open have downloaded, they stay cached, but foods you have not opened yet need a connection the first time.